Monday, 17th July, 2023…………. the last tram home!

Today was the last real day of flettrek2023 and the last post on the flettrek blog itself. The weather was forecast to be a bit doubtful and so Steve suggested we return to the fabulous tram museum at Crich where cover was always close AND because we knew it was going to be open! A mate of Steve’s had been involved in starting this fabulous Museum 60+ years ago and so we had even more reason to go there. A quick summary of the museum was that the site had been a quarry with lime kilns and contained A LIGHT GAUGE RAILWAY to feed the kilns. A few keen people had been collecting trams from light rail networks that were closing down in the late 50s and early 60s and someone realised that this quarry in Crich was THE place to store and display them! Fast forward quite a few years and this site also started to save listed buildings that were at risk by dismantling those buildings and re-erecting them at the quarry. The final result is a village of genuinely historic buildings serviced by a light rail network and containing a complete set of tram restoration workshops! Bridges, street furniture and A PUB finished off this tram village within the village of Crich and the result is truly stunning, vibrant and not just realistic ……. BUT REAL!

The Sun shone often enough to gift me photos which are some of the best of flettrek2023!

A few years ago, I paid the blog host a few shekels to grant me a higher amount of storage and I’ve decided to blow that storage by posting all of these photos at higher resolution because this is the last flettrek post ever.


I really want to thank those people who have been here with me since day 1.
I don’t want to list them because I will have forgotten some but a few are deserving of a ‘mentioned in dispatches rating’ such as Max, Luscious Kerrie, Crowie, and Ray.
The blog has become a bit of an anachronism as it has been overtaken by other social media and I am sad to see it go but I will keep it going offline just for me because I have come to rely on it to help me remember where I was and when.

I love you all and thank you for sharing my journeys. I won’t bore you all with a blog post on packing and travelling back but please know that you will all stay in my heart forever ❤️

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday, 17th July, 2023…………. the last tram home!

  1. What a journey it has been every one of them thanks for sharing as I/we have traveled vicariously every step of the way with you since the first post. It is sad this is to be “The Last Post” ( remote sounds of a Piper and bugler can be heard). The aroma of beer, wine & whiskey should bring back memories of the years of travel, friendship and kindred alike.

    The yarns, the history, the photography. The many packages couriered to and from between Ian and myself of fine timber swapped I thank you. The mateship it created between the three of us, even tho I’ve never met Ian in person, you became an essential link.

    Now to tell the tale to the future Flett’s inspire their passion for travel.

    Thanks Alan safe journey home to the ever growing family.

    Ray

  2. max storey says:

    What magnificent trams, resto par excellence, thanks for the trip, it was a hoot

  3. flettrek says:

    They have SEVENTY restored trams Max and “many more” stored waiting for restoration!

Leave a comment