Tuesday, 4th July, 2023 …………. sunshine!

The Sun shone today for the fist time since I arrived in Orkney last Saturday! It wasn’t forecast so I hadn’t organised any of my more ‘adventurous’ planned excursions to other islands. Being confined therefore to the ‘mainland’, I rushed to the Brough of Bursay on the outside chance that there might be puffins ……… but alas! I had to settle for a couple of oystercatchers.

In the nearby village is the Earls Palace built in 1534 by a thoroughly NOT NICE person!

The nearby and much more recent St Magnus Kirk is one of at least 3 that I am aware of on the Orkneys but they all have their place in the lore of St Magnus ………. as does the rotter in the palace!

The sunshine either brought out the birdlife or made their photography easier so here are my favourites from the day, oystercatchers at Birsay and a beautiful swan family at the Ness of Brodga.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment